# Independent International Commission on Decommissioning

### General John de Chastelain

Brigadier Tauno Nieminen

Ambassador Donald C. Johnson

#### **Dublin Office**

Dublin Castle Block M, Ship Street DUBLIN 2

Tel No: (01) 4780111 Fax No: (01) 4780600

#### Belfast Office

Rosepark House Upper Newtownards Road BELFAST BT4 3NR

Tel No: (01232) 488600 Fax No: (01232) 488601

15 December 1997

Liaison Sub-Committee on Decommissioning

Distribution List

## PROPOSALS FOR DECOMMISSIONING SCHEMES

References. A: Para 2 (c) (1), Procedural Motion adopted 24 September 1997

B: Meeting of the Liaison Sub-Committee on Decommissioning, 25 November 1997

C: Commission meetings with Participants, 02 December 1997

- 1. Reference A calls on the Liaison Sub-Committee on Decommissioning, inter alia:
  - "-- to consider the type of scheme or schemes for decommissioning and the role of the Independent Commission in respect of same;
  - -- to consider proposals for such schemes drawn up by the Independent Commission, and to submit any agreed opinion on the proposals for consideration by the Commission."
- 2. Further to the advice given by Liaison Sub-Committee Participants during references B and C, and pursuant to its remit to provide the British and Irish Governments with proposals for decommissioning schemes, the Commission herewith submits proposals for two schemes for consideration by the Participants, prior to their final submission to the Governments.
- 3. Should any of the Participants have views on the proposed Schemes, which they wish to have

considered by the Liaison Sub-Committee when it meets at 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday 14 January 1998, they are requested to submit them to the Office of the Independent Chairmen by noon on Monday 12 January 1998. Their comments will be collated and distributed to the Participants by the end of work the same day.

John de Chastelain

Chairman

Distribution List:

British Government Irish Government

Alliance
Labour
Northern Ireland Women's Coalition
Progressive Unionist Party
Sinn Féin
Social Democratic and Labour Party
Ulster Democratic Party
Ulster Unionist Party

Office of the Independent Chairmen