## FOURTEENTH DAY.

WEDNESDAY, July 29, 1857.

The Convention met pursuant to adjournment and was called to order by the President.

The Journal of yesterday was read, corrected and approved.

The President then announced the following Standing Committees:

Committee to consider and report a Preamble and Declaration of Rights; and also upon the Elective Franchise—Messrs. Murray, Curtis and Streeter.

Committee upon the Name and Boundaries of the State, to consider and report upon the several propositions submitted to the people of this Territory, by the Act of Congress called the Enabling Act, passed on third day of March, 1857—Messrs. Becker, Bailly, M'Mahan, Leonard, Norris, Shepley and Kennedy.

Committee upon the distribution of the powers of the State Government—Messrs. M. E. Ames, Butler, Baasen, Rolette and Swan.

Committee upon the Legislative Department, which Committee shall also be charged with the duty of considering and reporting upon the subject of Legislative and Congressional apportionment—Messrs. J. R. Brown, Murray, Davis, Setzer, Kingsbury, Keegan, Streeter, M'Fetridge and Gilman.

Committee upon the Executive Department—Messrs. Gorman, Leonard, Kennedy, Sturgis and Gilbert.

Committee upon the Judicial Department—Messrs. Sherburne, Meeker, Wait, Emmett, Flandrau, Day and Burwell.

Committee upon the Finances of the State and upon Banks and Banking—Messrs Holcombe, Gilman, Prince, Warner, Burwell, Barrett and Stacey.

Committee upon Corporations and their Privileges, not including Corporations of Banking—Messrs. Setzer, Taylor, M'Grorty, Tenvoorde and Cantell.

Committee upon the subject of School Funds, Education and Science—Messrs. A. E. Ames, Baker, Kingsbury, Rolette, Warner, Wilson and Tuttle.

Committee upon Counties and Towns and the Organization of the same—Messrs. Emmett, M'Mahon, Sauderson, Day and Jerome.

Committee upon the Seal of the State, Coat of Arms, and Design of same—Messrs. Norris, J. R. Brown and Bailly.

Committee upon Amendments to the Constitution—Messrs. Meeker, Murray and Davis.

Committee upon Military Organization—Messrs. Baasen, Faber, Day, Barrett and Vasseur.

Committee upon Miscellaneous Subjects—Messrs. Flandrau, Stacey, Swan, Baker, Leonard, Emmett and Nash.

Committee upon Phraseology and Revision—Messrs. Chase, Meeker and McMahan.

On motion of Mr. WARNER, the Committee on Postage was allowed until to-morrow to report.

Mr. BROWN offered the following Resolution, which was adopted:

"Resolved, That the President of the Constitutional Convention, before forwarding to the Secretary of the Interior, the resolutions passed a few days since by this body, relative to securing the taking of the census of the Territory, have the same certified as a true copy of the original by the Secretary of the Territory over the great seal of the Territory."

On motion of Mr. SETZER, the Convention gave leave of absence to Mr. McMahan, of Blue Earth County, for one week, owing to sickness in his family.

Mr. STREETER offered the following Resolution, which was adopted:

"Resolved, That one hundred and fifty copies of the Rules adopted for the government of the Convention, be printed in pamphlet form, together with a list of Standing Committees and the names of its members, for the use of the members of the Convention."

On motion of Mr. KENNEDY, it was carried that the Secretary of the Convention be authorized to employ an Assistant Secretary, until the arrival of Mr. Kinghorn, the Assistant Secretary elect.

On motion of Mr. SETZER, the Convention adjourned.

H. H. SIBLEY,

President.

## Attest:

J. J. Noah, Secretary.