FROM:

MRS D E McNALLY Political Development Team 30 October 1996

> cc PS/Secretary of State (B&L) - B PS/Sir John Wheeler (B&L) - B PS/Michael Ancram (B&L) - B PS/Malcolm Moss (DHSS, DOE & L) - B PS/Baroness Denton(DED, DANI & L) - B PS/PUS (B&L) - B PS/Sir David Fell - B Mr Thomas - B Mr Steele - B Mr Leach - B Mr Bell - B Mr Watkins - B Mr Wood (B&L) - B Mr Beeton - B Mr Priestly - B Mr Hill (B&L) - B Mr Lavery - B Mr Maccabe - B 2 PMr Perry - B Mr Stephens - B Ms Bharucha - B Ms Mapstone - B Mr Whysall (B&L) - B Mr May - B Mr McKervill - B Dr Smyth - B Mr Jagelman - B

NOTE FOR THE RECORD

TALKS: LIMIT ON SIZE OF GOVERNMENT TEAMS AND SUPPORTERS

A 'convention' was adopted during yesterday's plenary session that the number of supporting officials permitted to attend future plenaries would be limited to 3 at the table and 5 in support for the two Governments, and 3 at the table and 3 in support where the parties are concerned.

Mr Hallett - B

2. Agreement on this followed a complaint from the DUP about the size of the Irish Support Team (which has spilled over into today's Newsletter). Parties (and consequently the Chairmen) may keep a close eye on the size of Government teams. Accordingly if you enter the room and find five 'supporters' seated (including the internal notetaker) it is important either to promptly cause one of them to make way for you, or yourself leave.

JC/TALKS/2649

3. We will also need to provide the Chairmen with a list of names which will constitute the British delegation negotiating and support teams. I attach a draft list. It includes the names of all those officials who kindly agreed earlier this year to join our pool of notetakers. I should be grateful if you would check that anyone who is likely to be attending the talks in the near future features on this list.

(Signed)

MRS D E MCNALLY CB 22282

Pro Haragests Pro Haracha, 1PL Pro Hisck, PAS Mr Cernon, CHO Mr Gilshrist, POS Ar Sagelman, Cant Se Ars Mayerane, IPL Ar Mayerane, IPL Mr McKervil, PAS Mr Scherr, IML Ar Sepers, Pos Mr Scherenon, CMS Mr Stevenson, CMS Mr Sicrenon, CMS

BRITISH GOVERNMENT DELEGATION

Secretary of State, Sir Patrick Mayhew Minister of State, Sir John Wheeler Minister of State, Michael Ancram Sir John Chilcot Sir David Fell Mr Thomas Mr Steele Mr Bell Mr Leach Mr Stephens Mr Hill Mr Lavery Mr Watkins Mr Maccabe Mr Beeton Mr Perry Mr Whysall Mr Margetts Ms Bharucha, IPL Mrs Black, PAB Mr Carson, CMU Mr Gilchrist, POB Mr Jagelman, Cent Sec Mrs Mapstone, IPL Mr May, POB Mr Maye, SPOB Mr McIlroy, REL Mr McKervill, PAB Mr McVeigh, PAB Ms Preece, IPL Mr Rogers, POB Mrs Sear, IPL Dr Smyth, PAB Mr Speirs, Personnel Mr Stevenson, CMU

Mr Tipping, POB Mr Webb, SPOB